What are video download settings and how do I use them on Workplace?

Your video download settings help protect copyrighted and confidential videos uploaded onto Workplace. This feature uses encryption to protect videos so that only people logged into Workplace on a supported browser can view them in full quality. Those who are using unsupported browsers will be served the video at a lower quality level.
Supported browsers and apps:
  • Firefox
  • Chrome
  • Workplace mobile app
  • Microsoft Edge (Chromium)
  • Opera
Unsupported browsers:
  • Internet Explorer
  • Safari
Adjust video download settings
  1. From your Feed, click Admin Panel in the left menu.
  2. Click Security Security.
  3. Click the Video Security tab. You may need to click More to see this option.
  4. Click next to Grant viewers permission. This will enable users to download videos and take screenshots or recordings. Users who are not logged in will also be able to view videos.
From here, you can prevent your Workplace videos from being downloaded. When this is turned on, HD video downloads will be unavailable to users.When the Grant viewers permission setting is turned off, people will not be able to download old or new videos to their devices from Workplace. When it is turned on, both old and new videos will be available for download.
Keep in mind that this setting only encrypts videos while it is turned on. It will not encrypt videos that were posted before it was turned on. When you turn this feature off after using it, all videos that were encrypted will stay encrypted.
Was this helpful?
Yes
No